A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration in bikaner

Administration in Bikaner


Bikaner in Rajasthan was founded by Rao Bikaji in 1488 with a cluster of 84 villages forsaken by the Shankhlas thereby transforming into the mighty kingdom that extended to 3000 villages by 1504. Rao Bikaji showed exemplary courage and foresight to abandon his father’s kingdom in Jodhpur swallowing an insult and founding the city amidst arid desert land with an army of 500 soldiers and 100 cavalry horses. The city flourished under Rao Bikaji’s rule and thereafter under the reign of his successors turning into a tourist hotspot transporting them to the era of Rajputs. Forts, monuments, shrines, museums, desert, wildlife, handicraft industry; the city offers everything desired by a tourist.


Bikaner city and district’s administration is segmented into four districts or sub divisions, namely Hanumangarh, Sriganganagar, Churu and Bikaner. The city’s administration is further subdivided into Kolayat, Nokha, Lunkaransar, Pugal, Chattargarh, Dungargarh, Khajuwala and Bikaner itself. The administration radius of Bikaner city comprises 874 villages and 219 gram Panchayets and the Panchayat Samitis   are responsible for the management and supervision of these tehsils or sub divisions. Barring a tehsil or sub division in Kolayat district, known as Bajju sub- tehsil operates autonomously. There are 5 Members of Legislative Assembly and 1 Member of Parliament nominated from Bikaner district as a whole.

The District Collector and District Magistrate helms the administration duty and they are accompanied and receives advisory help from three district magistrates in Bikaner. There is one more additional district collector and magistrate who looks after the Zila Parishad administration in Bikaner.

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries